Nielsen Philanthropy Fellowship

McCourt’s Center for Public and Nonprofit Leadership awards an $8,000 to $10,000 Waldemar A. Nielsen Philanthropy Fellowship to a student who has a keen interest in nonprofit and philanthropic organizations focused on justice and systemic change. The Fellow will support the Center Director and Associate Director in the development of philanthropy teaching case studies; serving as the teaching assistant for the Spring, 2025 Philanthropy and Nonprofit class; and coordinating an end-of-year philanthropy event.

Qualifications: Currently enrolled or new admit who has confirmed enrollment as a
full-time student at McCourt. Ability to attend the Spring, 2025 Philanthropy, Power
and Politics class on Tuesdays, 3:30pm to 6:00pm. Research, writing and event
coordination experience required. The Fellow will be part of the Center team and
have the opportunity to meet top leaders in the philanthropic and nonprofit sectors.

Timeline: Apply by Wednesday, April 24 at 5:00pm ET.

Applicants will be notified about the Fellowship awards by May 17, 2024.

If you have any questions, please contact Luisa Boyarski at

The fellows for the 2023-2024 academic year are:

  • Sade Cole – Nielsen Fellow 2023-2024

Past fellows include:

  • Anne Katz (MPP 2024) – Nielsen Fellow 2022-2023
  • Constanza Alarcón Cordón (MPP 2021) – Nielsen Fellow 2020-2021
  • Emma Farber (MPP 2021) – Nielsen Fellow 2019-2020
  • Erica Turner (MPP 2020) – Nielsen Fellow 2018-2019
  • Edward Weizenegger (MPP 2018) – Nielsen Fellow 2017-2018
  • Beatrice Leydier (MPP 2017) – Nielsen Fellow 2016-2017
  • Stephanie Keller, MPP 2015
  • Althea Arnold, MPP 2011
  • Lauren Marra, MPP 2010
  • Sonya Behnke, MPP 2008
  • Pilar Oberwetter, MPP 2008
  • Catherine O’Connor, MPP 2007
  • Andy Ho, MPP & MBA 2006
  • Amanda Horwitz, MPP 2006